Dicing, slicing and mincing for the week, so much easier, here is how I do it.

Have you seen on T.V. when cooks and chefs have all of their ingredients ready in little small containers? Or, have you noticed how they sell diced or sliced fresh or frozen onions, garlic, mushrooms and peppers at the supermarket?

Instead of buying them at the supermarket, consider doing it yourself.  I want to share with you what works for me.  Following these simple tips and tricks will make your cooking easier and you will save some money too!

Buy about six small or medium glass containers with lids, about 6, I have 1 and 2 cup containers.  I dedicate no more than 20-30 minutes during the weekend or whenever you can, to slice, dice and mince peppers, onions and garlic cloves. I use these in practically almost all of my recipes.  For those of you that have picky eaters and do not enjoy seeing onions or garlic in the food, mincing is a very good option.   For peppers, just dice them as small as possible.

A word on how I store minced garlic.  Place the minced garlic in an air-tight jar. Cover the garlic with a layer of your chosen oil. Seal the jar and place it in the refrigerator. Use the garlic within three weeks. Dispose of any garlic remaining after that time.

Happy cooking!

 

6 responses to “Dicing, slicing and mincing for the week, so much easier, here is how I do it.

  1. I love this idea, having these ready at our fingertips will also encourage us to make fantastic meals when we don’t have time to start every time from the beginning. Lovely! Date: Wed, 28 Nov 2012 20:36:28 +0000 To: dayspring54@hotmail.com

  2. I love this idea, having these ready at our fingertips will also encourage us to make fantastic meals when we don’t have time to start every time from the beginning. Lovely!

  3. I love the tips!!! Specially the garlic one! Thanks, Chef Maria!

  4. Hey there! I thought you deserved an award. Check out my blog for all the info 😀

Leave a Reply

